Who Am I?

Less than a month ago I did an introduction of myself and my family because I started this little blog. However, I am going to give a little bit more information about us for the sake of this blog challenge.  Plus, I guess it never hurts to refresh everyone’s memories and let all the new readers know a little more without necessarily having to back track!

I am participating in an  August blog challenge.

Blogging Challenge

Today’s blog prompt was:  “Who are you?  Introduce us to you.”

IMG_0188

My name is Jessica but almost everyone calls me Jess.  I am a 30 year old single mom of three.  My children are all a product of my first marriage. I have been married twice… and divorced twice.  I recently got out of a serious relationship with a guy who I thought would be the last guy I would date/marry.  However, things changed and I’m single once again.  Currently, I’m a little slow on the motivation to try again.  So I am not rushing anything.  But anyways… I’m working full time as a nurse assistant in a hospital.  I work on a med/surg floor.  I work 12 hour night shifts currently.  I do have an associates degree in Business/Health Care Administration.  I also finished all my pre-reqs for nursing.  Of course, that was before deciding that I didn’t want to be a nurse. I was accepted into a high ranking nursing school for both their LPN and RN program.  I never did accept either of them after working at the hospital.  I am now in the process of the dream I had as a teenager.  I am completing my degree in Early Childhood Education.  I am making really good progress with it so far!  My children are Laura (13), Caleb (11), and Matthew (9)…. they are a handful and a challenge but I wouldn’t know what to do without them!  However, they will be my only children that I ever have as I had a tubal ligation back in Nov 2004.  A decision which I have been torn about more than once.  But right now, I am finally comfortable with.

I also must add that I have just a *touch* of OCD. I am big on change.  Well, moderate change.  Meaning, I like to rearrange things in the house. I like to change my hair.  I like to change my mind.  I am a little bit crazy! The other aspect of my OCD is cleanliness.  I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a super neat freak.  However, when the clutter starts getting to me… I will start cleaning and cleaning and cleaning until I reach a point where I am confortable that it is clean enough.   This has been brought more to the surface when I lived with *J* because he taught me a WHOLE new lifestyle!  I am so happy with this change!!

I am also very addicted to technology!  I am really a technology junkie!  I like my lap top and my iPhone.  However, I don’t have a lot of recent technology.  I know that these items I listed come across as “expensive” electronics.  But in all honesty, both items were bought after saving and budgeting.  It was my “treat” which is needed when you work a lot.  You will burn out if you work ALL the time and never get some kind of reward.  So, I like texting and emailing.  I also love to read… but currently, I am without an e-reader which I was using but I got rid of.  Soon I’ll have a Kindle again… LOL!  Or so I keep telling myself.

I’ve been blogging for a long time.  However, I recently moved my blog to this location.  I really am liking it here.  Although, it is taking a little bit of time to get it set up.  I initially  began blogging several years ago when I was pregnant with one of the boys.  I lived overseas (Germany) and it was initially a way to keep the family/friends back home updated.  The blog has evolved and moved through time.  It is now mostly an online connection to a community.  A few real life friends know about it and some family… but for the most part, they aren’t readers here.  Which is okay.  It is what it is… and it is how I also keep track of life.

I guess the last thing I might mention here is that I also suffer from some pretty serious migraines.  These get bad enough that I can’t get out of bed… I can’t function normally…  I can’t talk…  I can’t walk…  I can’t think…  I zone out completely… and I sometimes act in some off the wall manners.  These have stood in my way from doing a lot of stuff. But I am determined to continue to overcome these.  The doctors I have seen aren’t really sure why these started awhile back all the sudden.  They think it has something to do with PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) from several years ago.  But really that is a story for another time!  So stick around!!!

Leave a Reply

