Livers…

food_mouthful4-1_14

I’m guilty of really enjoying the food in this photo… I’ve enjoyed them since I was a kid.  I typically end up going to a chicken cooking place to get them though.  They are pre-cooked for me and ready to go.  In case you don’t know what those are… they are chicken livers.  I will be honest and say that I don’t like gizzards though.  AT ALL.!  Because of the fact that I typically live in small towns the pre-made livers are typically only sold on certain days of the week.  So, I really haven’t had any in a pretty long time.  Therefore, the children really haven’t had any either.  At least… not until recently.

I’m big on the children TRYING new things and new foods.  I require that they TRY stuff.  If they don’t like it, they don’t have to eat it again.  If it’s a legitimate dislike.  So, when I found out that *J* knew how to make chicken livers I was all for having some.  Along with chicken nuggets.  Smile  It took us a couple days to track down some uncooked chicken livers…  but they finally got them in at Wally World so I picked them up.  WOOT!  Knowing that the children might not like them I only picked up one container (in the smallest size I could find… but who am I kidding because they only had one size).  I thawed all the chicken while *J* was getting home from work.

We finished cooking up the nuggets first, which the children have always loved.  Then the boys wanted to see what the livers looked like before we cooked them.  I wasn’t sure if I should show them or not because sometimes they get finicky when they see the process.  But the boys really dug it!  They cooked up pretty fast.  The deal was that they would have to eat the first one we gave them.  If they didn’t like it, they would not have to eat anymore.  If they liked it… they could have more.  But they MUST finish the small one that we gave them.  They were about the size of a nickel around and weren’t very thick (since I had kind of cut several of them).

Let me tell you, chicken livers did not go over well with any of the kids.  Sad smile  I have no chicken liver lovers in my house at all.  I will be eating them alone I suppose.  Bummer!

Leave a Reply

