We’ve Moved…

The children and I lived with “J” for 10 months while we dated.  We stayed in his apartment post break-up as well.  We stayed in his apartment until I found a new job (long story for another post) and I found a place to live.  Since I wasn’t sure where I would find a job, it was an agreement it was easier to just wait for me to move somewhere so I wasn’t limited to where I could find a job.

Once I found a job out of all the areas I applied it was logical to find a place close to where I was now working.  What I didn’t account for was the price of housing where I was moving. Rent is out of this world in the area.  I realized quickly why I was making what I’m making.  The area costs a lot more than where I was coming from.  WOW!  I was completely surprised when I saw how much 2-3 bedroom APARTMENTS cost!  Let alone houses.

I searched many areas surrounding where I was working.  Every direction!  I searched many places on the internet and newspapers.  I finally found one on Craigslist that was within my budget and 3 bedrooms.  So, I emailed the poster and waited for a reply.  We (*J* included, were in another area looking at other places on the list (in an area I couldn’t live in after we saw it) and catching a movie.  After the movie I checked my email and realized that the poster had replied.  She gave me the address so we could go take a look from the outside.  I was a little put off at first… the siding needed redone, badly.  Needed a new roof.  Plus it looked pretty small.  I wasn’t so sure about this house.  But I know that the inside can change a lot.  You can make a large place, small… and a small place, large.  It all depends on how they set it up.

The day came for us to come look at the house.  In between times, we had been emailing back and forth.  Discussing things like improvements that they were planning on doing.  Making sure that what I thought needed to happen were on their list.  They were on her list of things that needed to be done.  Knowing that they were refinishing the hardwood floors downstairs at the current time and that they were painting upstairs and putting down new carpet I had to keep it in mind that it would look different after it was done.  But I was impressed with the house itself.  Although it looked pretty small from the outside, the inside of the house wasn’t so small.  It was set up well.  One of my favorite parts was the upstairs bedroom that the boys would get.  But it still needed some work.  We discussed the fact of central air.  Which was suppose to be installed with my security deposit.  I paid my security deposit about 20 days before my “move in” date.

I finally made it to sign my lease on the 31st of May.  The lease began the 1st of June.  I was really excited but nervous at the same time.  I have a hard time living on my own.  Away from family and friends.  But since I got a job in a location away from my family and friends, I didn’t really have a choice.

So, we’ve been in our little house for a little over a month… and I’m finally getting things set up and how I want them. Just a few more things need done and the basics are set up.  There is still a lot of things I need to buy/find to complete things.  I’m really happy with the start on it.  Soon, all the rooms will be done.  I have a little more work to do with the “office” are and “porch” area.  As soon as that is done… I plan on doing a reveal.  Smile

Leave a comment